

| SUBJECT | EMANCIPATION |
|-------------------------------|---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| Last Rev. Date | October 30, 2023 |
| Purpose | To provide information on emancipation and where to get assistance with the emancipation process. |
| What Emancipation Means | You are free from custody and control of your parents (or guardians). If you're emancipated, you can do many things that you would normally need your parents' permission to do. For example, you can live where you want. You can also apply for a work permit, keep the money you earn, get a credit card, and sign up for school without needing your parents' permission or consent. Even if you aren't emancipated, you can get certain types of medical care without a parent's permission. Your parents are no longer required to support you. If you're emancipated, you will need to financially support yourself. Your parents are no longer required to support you and no longer control your finances. You will be responsible for any money you owe, and you |
| | No fonger control your finances. Fou will be responsible for any money you owe, and you can also be sued in court. You are not a legal adult in all ways – you are an "emancipated minor." Some laws that apply to children will still apply to you. For example, you still must go to school. You would still need your parents' permission to marry. You have to wait until you are 18 to vote and wait until you are 21 to drink or buy alcohol. Someone who has sex with an emancipated minor can still be criminally charged with statutory rape, unless they are legally married to each other. |
| How to Become Emancipated | There are three ways to get emancipated: 1. Get legally married. In California, anyone under 18 must have a parent's permission and get permission from the court to get married. 2. Join the military. If you are under 18, you must have permission from your parents and the military. 3. Get a court order saying you are emancipated. You can get emancipated if you file an application (a petition) and a judge signs a court order called a Declaration of Emancipation. For a judge to sign, you need to prove: You're at least 14 years old. You can handle your own money and pay your bills. You have a legal way to make money. Emancipation would be good for you. |
| Resources & Guides | Emancipation in California California Courts Self Help Guide |
| Assistance | For assistance with the emancipation process please contact: Interface Children & Family Services Youth Outreach Line 24 hours/7 days a week 805-469-5883 Services available in Spanish and other languages as needed. |